Skip Navigation LinksHome > Media >

Press Releases

Tees & Textbooks Event & 2010 Scholarships


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Press Contact information: Rauni Kew (207)-602-8500 Greg Dugal, Executive Director Maine Innkeepers Association (207) 865-6100 Maine Innkeepers Association Education Foundation to Award 2010 Scholarships at Annual Tees & Textbooks Event Freeport, ME – May 19, 2010 – The Maine Innkeepers Association Education Foundation, affiliated with the Maine Innkeepers Association (MEIA) will award hospitality scholarships at the sixth annual Tees & Textbooks event June 21st and 22nd at the Samoset Resort in Rockport, announced Greg Dugal, Executive Director at MEIA. Eleven Maine students will receive scholarships after a cocktail dinner reception on June 21st. followed the next day by the 16th annual Maine Innkeepers Association Hospitality Golf classic at the Samoset Resort. Since it’s inception in 1984, the scholarship program , created to inspire and support Maine students pursuing careers in hospitality, has awarded over $130,000 to 229 students. This year the following eleven students will be presented with scholarships totaling $8600. • Haley Warner of Northport, attending Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale Fla. Charles Samelson Award ($1000), sponsored by Dirigo Stitching & Harry Samelson. • Rachel Michaud of Hampden, attending The Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, NY. Ed Langlois Award ($500), sponsored by Maine Innkeepers Association Education Foundation. • Stacia Matthews of Bangor, attending Husson University, Bangor. Ed Langlois Award ($500), sponsored by Maine Innkeepers Association Education Foundation. • Elise Perkins of Auburn, attending Endicott College, Beverly, MA. Women in Hospitality Award, ($2500) - sponsored by Nancy Gray of Harraseeket Inn, Maureen McQuade of Inn by the Sea, Kathryn Weare of Cliff House Spa & Resort, Jean Ginn Marvin of the Nonantum Resort, and Marian Burns of Mira Monte Inn & Suites. • Lily McLaughlin of Greenville, attending University of Maine, Orono. Charlie Keegan Award ($600) - sponsored by The Turkish Towel Company. • Ryan Asalone, of Hampden, attending Christopher Newport University, Newport News, VA. Jedediah Scott Award ($500) – sponsored by Peter Daigle of Lafayette Hotels. • Jordan McLaughlin of Medway, attending Southern Maine Community College, South Portland, ME.- Dennis Johnston Award ($500)- sponsored by Colonial Surveying. • Alison Kill of South Portland, attending University of Maine, Orono. .- John O’Keeffe Award ($500) sponsored by Fisherman’s Wharf. • Joshua Charest of Lewiston attending Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY.- Harold Nelson & Irving Small Award ($500) sponsored by Nelson & Small, Inc. • Wade Wakefield of Unity, attending Thomas College, Waterville- Ed & Fay Carpenter Award ($1000) sponsored by Friends & Family Members & Carrabasset Coffee. • Belinda Place of Morrill, attending Thomas College, Waterville, ME.- Larry Mahaney Award- ($ 500) sponsored by Holiday Inn, Waterville. “We are pleased to offer scholarships to encourage and support these exceptional Maine students, and hope the awards will inspire some to pursue careers in hospitality, “said Dugal. “As the largest industry in the state tourism offers students a wide range of opportunities and rich career paths right here at home, in Maine.” Scholarship presentations will be made after a 5:30PM cocktail reception at the Samoset’s new pool area, and will be sponsored by New England Coffee Company. The 6:30PM awards dinner, also at the Samoset, and sponsored by Daigle Commercial Properties and Turner Barker Insurance, will wrap up with the physical comedy of “Two: High Flying Energy Juggling.” Tickets are available for $55 per person and all proceeds benefit the Maine Innkeeper’s Association Education Foundation, a 501c3 charity. For more information, please call Julie Campbell at 207-865-6100 or On June 22nd the 16th Annual Maine Innkeepers Association Hospitality Golf Classic will begin with a shotgun start at 9:00AM at the Samoset Resort. Scholarship awards are made to Maine students enrolled at fully accredited schools with specialties in culinary arts or hotel administration including hospitality schools in the State University System, private Universities or Colleges, and Maine Community College Systems. Scholarships are awarded after review by a committee who considers scholastic records, financial need, extra curricular activities and a desire to work in hospitality. Non- hospitality awards may be available to employees, their families or family members of innkeepers. About the Maine Innkeepers Association The Maine Innkeepers Association, a leading provider of tourism information to both Maine’s lodging industry and its visitors, represents nearly 700 B&Bs, camps, cottages, hotels, inns, motels and resorts across Maine, and their suppliers. Through communication, education, promotion and government affairs, the Association helps its members achieve prosperity and deliver a quality product to the consumer. Maine Innkeepers Association is located in Freeport, ME and can also be found at ###

return to Media Central page