June 13, 2017

Maine Innkeepers Have Awarded Nearly $200,000 in College Scholarships

Augusta, Maine—The Maine Innkeepers Association has given college scholarship grants to 12 students from across Maine.  Many of the 12 students are already attending colleges in the Northeast and several are headed to college for the first time. This year’s recipients are listed below.

Over 33 years, Maine Innkeepers have awarded scholarships totaling $199,500 to 286 students across Maine.

The scholarships were announced at last night’s benefit dinner at the Black Point Inn in Scarborough.  Proceeds from the dinner will go into the Maine Innkeepers Association Education Foundation.

Our scholarship recipients are all exceptional young people and we are excited that they are focusing their education in hospitality,” said Steve Hewins, president and CEO of the Maine Restaurant Association and the Maine Innkeepers Association.  “Now more than ever we need to develop new leaders like these to take our industry into the future.”

To qualify, students must be pursuing a course of study related to the hospitality industry, or must be employees or children of members of the Maine Innkeepers Association.

Scholarship recipient, town                College                                                     Sponsor

Cassidy West, Vassalboro                 Thomas College                                        McQuade, Gray, Ratte, Weare & Marvin

Amie O’Hara, Winter Harbor                USM                                                       Greg Goforth & Annaliese Lafayette

Connie Russell, Jr. Rockport              Bentley University                                     Sysco Northern New England

Jade Hazzard, Camden                     None selected yet                                     Ramsey Lafayette/Fisherman’s Wharf

Drew Thibodeau, Orrington                Rochester Institute  of Technology              Peter Daigle

Amanda Richards, Glenburn              Southern NH U.                                         Giri Hotels

Ana Knight, Harpswell                       Lasell College                                           Ron & Jeanne Carpentier

Abigail Brown, West Poland               Husson University                                    Migis Hotel Group

Joseph Meehan, Wiscasset               Thomas College                                       Sebasco Harbor Resort

Erica Jackson, Oxford                       USM                                                       Friends of Ed & Fay,Carrabasset Coffee Co.

Hamido Hassan, Lewiston                 Johnson & Wales U.                                  Performance Foodservice NorthCenter

Shannon Hand, Brewer                      Husson University                                     Harry Samelsen


**Photos of scholarship recipients available upon request.

The Maine Innkeepers Association is committed to improving, promoting and protecting the welfare of the lodging industry in Maine. Through communication, education, promotion and governmental affairs, MIA helps its members achieve prosperity and deliver a quality product to the consumer.


For more information:                                                                                                        Angie Helton, (207) 653-0365 or nema@maine.rr.com


Leave a Reply